talley
“The world has become too casual, and people have become lazy. There was a time when people went on the airplane with gloves.” Former fashion editor of Vogue André Leon Talley in Vanity Fair.
I’d like to share a childhood memory with you that nicely illustrates this thought:  I grew up in Brazil and during the holiday season, our family travelled to Switzerland, where my grandparents lived.  I vividly remember how my mother, every single time before we left the house to go to the airport, meticulously put on her makeup and spritzed on some perfume, dressed herself impeccably in some wide legged, light trousers and a silk, yellow or powder pink blouse, slipped her feet into some stylish high-heels and grabbed her beauty case – the only hand baggage beside her Louis Vuitton Noe Drawstring bag she would carry. I remember her long, red nails and her thick, blondish-brown hair cascading down her back.  Yes, these were the days…

