Part I and II of my little series of ad reviews have been easier to write than the last one, the Ugly. Why? Well, it wasn’t difficult to find the bad ads; and the good ones also stood out quite easily. The one ad (yep, just one) I thought of as the Ugly one is by Alexander McQueen.

ALEXANDER MCQUEEN
How must it be like to be an Alexander McQueen ad? You have no choice than to feel like the ugly sister besides such outlandish, beautiful and impossibly intricate, complex and elaborate gowns. I guess that whatever you do, you won’t be able to do justice to the clothes. I’m actually not sure about these ads; I don’t think that they are failing, but still, something is missing here, I can’t quite pinpoint, what. Even though I find the use of black and white quite striking, I still would have loved to see the gowns’ colors. Edie Campbell is doing a great job behind the mask; she’s really giving me the creeps with that stare. So help me out here: What do you think about the campaign?
Edie Campbell for Alexander McQueen FW 12.13 Campaign by David Sims_1Edie Campbell for Alexander McQueen FW 12.13 Campaign by David Sims_2alexander-mcqueen-fw-campaign3alexander-mcqueen-fw-campaign1alexander-mcqueen-fw-campaign2alexander-mcqueen-fw-campaign5alexander-mcqueen-fw-campaign6alexander-mcqueen-fw-campaign7alexander-mcqueen-fw-campaign8Edie Campbell shot by David Sims

